Nominations now open for AFTA Board

THE Australian Federation of Travel Agents (AFTA) has opened up nominations for an election of six directors to its Board, as part of its Annual General Meeting process.

Half of the AFTA Board goes up for re-election every year under the current AFTA Constitution, with incumbents for 2023 including Vice Chair Christian Hunter from Travellers Choice, Corporate Travel Management’s Laura Ruffles, Shelley Beasley of Webjet, and Helloworld Travel’s Executive Director Cinzia Burnes.

Danielle Russom from American Express Global Business Travel is also in the running to be elected, after last month taking over the board position held by Jo Sully, while a currently vacant sixth position is up for grabs this year as well.

AFTA has detailed the election process, including the definition of Full Members and Concessional Members and how many votes to which they are entitled, via a voting fact sheet.

Prospective nominees are required to be either a Full Member of AFTA, or a Director or full-time employee of a Full Member, and must have been engaged or employed in the travel industry on a full-time basis for at least six months.

There is a two-week nomination period, with form submissions closing at 5pm AEST on 26 Apr, along with any relevant biographical details.

Subscribe To travelBulletin