CLIAs recognise excellence within the Australian cruise industry

Eighteen awardees were recognised for helping realise the success the Australian cruise industry is currently enjoying.

SATURDAY night’s Cruise Lines International Association (CLIA) Awards celebrated a thriving cruise industry in Australia, with the star achievers of the local industry named in Sydney.

The 21st annual Cruise Industry Awards saw more than 500 members of the sector gather at The Star Sydney to celebrate everyone’s renewed success.

The gala dinner and presentation night was hosted by Australian actor and singer Tim Campbell, and involved 18 awards for travel agencies and individuals.

Top winners on the night included Byron Horne of Bicton Travel, named Cruise Consultant of the Year Australia, and Rhona Rodgers of MTA, named Cruise Champion; agency winners included Phil Hoffmann Travel, which was named Australia’s Large Cruise Agency of the Year, and Cruise Express was awarded Australia’s Small Cruise Agency of the Year.

A highlight honour was the induction into the CLIA Hall of Fame of ISS-McKay New Zealand Managing Director Craig Harris, who was recognised for his long-standing industry leadership and his role in transforming his country into a premier international cruise destination.

CLIA Managing Director Joel Katz said this year’s awards helped mark one of the strongest summer cruise seasons experienced in Australia.

“Cruise fans are more excited than ever about the cruise opportunities available to them across our region and around the world, and our travel agent community has played a huge part in fuelling that passion,” Katz said.

“Cruising is enjoying undeniable success right now in Australia, and these awards are our way of thanking those who drive so much of that success.”

Below is the full list of winners:

• Small Cruise Agency of the Year, Aus – Cruise Express

• Cruise Agency of the Year (Small), New Zealand – YOU Travel Bethlehem

• Cruise Agency of the Year (Large), Australia – Phil Hoffmann Travel

• Online Cruise Agency of the Year – Ecruising and Clean Cruising

• Cruise Consultant of the Year, Australia – Byron Horne, Bicton Travel

• Cruise Consultant of the Year, New Zealand – Gail Littin, Pukekohe Travel

• Mobile/Home-Based Agent of the Year, Australia – Rose Febo, TravelManagers

• Broker of the Year, New Zealand – Zaheda Davies, NZ Travel Brokers

• Media Award – Imogen Eveson, International Traveller

• Rising Star, Australia – Vanessa Sokolji, Flight Centre Epping Plaza

• Rising Star, New Zealand – Jaimee Phelps, House of Travel Kapiti Coast

• Agency Cruise Promotion of the Year, Australia – My Cruises

• Agency Cruise Promotion of the Year, New Zealand –

• Network Cruise Promotion of the Year – World Travellers, New Zealand

• Cruise Month Promotion of the Year – House of Travel, New Zealand

• Cruise Champion – Rhona Rodgers, MTA

• Cruise Line Champion – Australasia Christine Oliver, AmaWaterways

• Hall of Fame – Craig Harris, ISS-McKay New Zealand

Subscribe To travelBulletin