ATIA unveils ATAS committee

Ten industry experts have stepped up to form the inaugural ATAS Advisory Committee, Janie Medbury reports.

THE Australian Travel Industry Association (ATIA) has welcomed 10 new members to its ATAS Advisory Committee (AAC). The travel experts hail from tour operators, wholesalers, hybrid/online, corporate and retail agency networks, representing the diverse nature of the travel industry.

The inaugural members tasked with overseeing the Australian Travel Accreditation Scheme (ATAS) include:
• Brett Mitchell from Intrepid
• Chad Carey from Chimu
• Deb Fox from Abercrombie & Kent
• David Walker from ITC Pacific (Sno n Ski)
• Ken Morgan from ATAC
• Scott Darlow from LINK
• Steve Hui from Iflyflat
• Gina Norman from RAA
• Brett Dann from Hunter Travel Group/Helloworld
• Lauren Gray from 1000 Mile Group

ATIA CEO Dean Long expressed his excitement in welcoming the new members to the committee, stating “their collective wisdom and extensive industry experience will undoubtedly contribute to the robust oversight and strategic direction of the ATAS”.

“This committee is instrumental in ensuring that ATAS remains relevant, rigorous, and responsive to the evolving needs of the travel industry and consumer expectations.”

“Their strategic advice is crucial in our continuous efforts to refine and enhance ATAS, providing a level of accreditation that travel businesses aspire to achieve and that consumers recognise as a mark of excellence,” he added.

Long emphasised that ATAS accreditation is subject to strict criteria such as in-depth business model analysis, insurance, Australian Consumer Law compliance, workforce standards, director checks, annual financial reviews and a “robust consumer complaints program”.

Subscribe To travelBulletin