AFTA votes ‘yes’ for new Constitution

THE Australian Federation of Travel Agents (AFTA) announced a new Constitution at its Annual General Meeting in Sydney today, after its members voted 100% in favour of adopting the new principles unanimously proposed by AFTA’s Board of Directors.

The new Constitution follows a significant review and public consultation, and purports to reflect changes in the travel industry and ensure fairness in AFTA’s governance.

“The adoption of the new Constitution is one of the most significant milestones in this organisation’s existence and cements the Board’s focus on renewal and growth over the past 12 months,” AFTA Chair Tom Manwaring said. The updated framework embodies fairness, he emphasised, with member votes “now aligned in a more balanced and fairer structure”.

The Board is also in the process of determining the ATAS Advisory Committee, Manwaring revealed, which will include dedicated positions for agent, tour operators, wholesalers and consumer groups, with details to come in the next quarter.

“We are currently finalising the strategic plan for the next four years which will drive the greatest change and improvements to our membership in many decades,” he explained.

The meeting also saw Christian Hunter (Travellers Choice), Graham Turner (Flight Centre), Laura Ruffles (CTM), Danielle Russom (Amex GBT), Shelley Beasley (Webjet) and Cinzia Burnes (Helloworld) all formally re-elected to the Board.

Pictured: Richard Taylor, AFTA; Dean Long, AFTA; James Kavanagh, Flight Centre; Shelley Beasley, Webjet; Tom Manwaring, Express Travel Group; Roy Merricks, MTA Mobile Travel Agents; Christian Hunter, Travellers Choice; Danielle Russom, American Express Global Business Travel; and David Greenland, Reed & Mackay.

Subscribe To travelBulletin